Film Forum – Breadlines and Champagne

If you are going to be in New York City the Film Forum is having a four week  festival on Depression Movies starting on February 6th.

 50 films in all!gold_diggers_1933_10_sil2

Pre-Code!                                       

 Screwball Comedies!

 Social Consciousness!

 

 

Read Terrence Rafferty’s article on the series in the The New York Times

wild_boys_road_01

golddiggers

upperworld003

Check out this youtube link from WNYCRadio

2 comments on “Film Forum – Breadlines and Champagne

  1. Judy says:

    Thank you for posting this! A very interesting article – I recently watched ‘Man’s Castle’, after reading about it on the Obscure Classics blog, and would love to see it on the big screen. Although I’m on the other side of the Atlantic, I’ll bear in mind the movies in this article which I haven’t seen yet.

    Like

  2. John Greco says:

    I recorded “Man’s Castle” a while back when it was on TCM yet I still have not watched it. Looking at the list of films, one I really would like to see, well actually there are a few, but one in particular is “Wild Boys of the Road.”

    TCM just had “Gold Diggers of 1933” on the other day. I’ve seen it a few times already still, I want to get around to seeing it again so I could write something about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

