Playwright and Screenwriter Horton Foote Dies at 92

 foote390

Playwright, screenwriter Horton Foote whose screenplays included “To Kill a Mockingbird”, “The Trip to Bountiful”,  “Baby, The Rain Must Fall” and “Tender Mercies” died on Wednesday.  Among Foote’ s plays are “Tomorrow” (also wrote the screenplay) and  “The Young Man From Atlanta.”

For a complete listing check here

New York Times Obituary

to-kill-trial

2 comments on “Playwright and Screenwriter Horton Foote Dies at 92

  1. R. D Finch says:

    Horton Foote was a great writer and screenwriter. I read a short story by him in my high school English class when I was a freshman, and when I saw “To Kill a Mockingbird” that year and saw his name listed in the credits, I immediately recognized it. He also wrote a trilogy of plays that starred his daughter Hallie and were shown on PBS in the late 80’s. At least a couple of these also had Matthew Broderick. I was surprised to learn that “The Trip to Bountiful” was originally a live TV play in the early 50’s with Lillian Gish in the role Geraldine Page got the Oscar for; according it IMDb it also had Eileen Heckart and Eva Marie Saint.

    He seemed to have an affinity for the works of Southern writers (like Harper Lee). He did a grand adaptation of the Faulkner short story “Barn Burning” (one of my all-time favorite short stories) with Tommy Lee Jones as the villainous Abner Snopes for the PBS American Short Story series in the early 80’s. I wrote a post on my blog about “Tomorrow,” another Faulkner work he adapted (brilliantly) back in August. He also wrote the teleplay for Flannery O’Connor’s “The Displaced Person” for the PBS series. She’s one of my very favorite writers, and I think this is her best story. I for one will certainly miss Horton Foote.

    Like

  2. John Greco says:

    I was unaware of the TV version of “The Trip to Bountiful.” I would like to see that. I only just realized he adapted the 1989 TV version of “Of Mice and Men” with John Malkovich and Gary Sinise which I liked. I’ll have to read you post on “Tomorrow” which I have not seen.

    The only work of his I ever read was “Baby, the Rain Must Fall” which must have been a novelization of the screenplay he wrote, based on his play. I could be wrong but everything I have read states that the SP was based on his play and not a novel I am assuming he novelized the SP which was a common practice in the 1960’s and 1970’s.

    Here’s a link showing the book cover http://www.cinemagebooks.com/si/3970.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

