A Face in the Crowd (1957) Elia Kazan

With the Film Forum in New York doing a three week  tribute to the work of Elia Kazan, I thought it would be a good time to provide a link to a review I wrote on this film for Halo-17.

Click here for the Film Forum web site

Click here for my Halo-17 review

Click here here for my short tribute to screenwriter Budd Shulberg. 

Books about Elia KazanAmerica, America
The Master Director Discusses His Films (Jeff Young)
Elia Kazan: A Biography (Richard Schickel)
A Life (Elia Kazan)
Kazan on Directing (Kazan and Lahr)
Kazan on Kazan (Michel Ciment)

Novels by Elia Kazan
The Arrangement
The Assassins
The Understudy
America, America
Acts of Love
The Anatolian

face-in-the-crowd-sposter  al

face-in-the-crowd-stillneal

face-in-the-crowd-sremickl

face-in-the-crowd-neal

4 comments on “A Face in the Crowd (1957) Elia Kazan

  1. Judy says:

    A great review, John – I’d like to see more Kazan and will bear this one in mind. Also some great stills and posters. I must admit I misread the top poster to start with and thought it said he drank bourbon mixed with blood! Judy

    Like

    • John Greco says:

      “I must admit I misread the top poster to start with and thought it said he drank bourbon mixed with blood!” LOL!!

      A Streetcar Named Desire, On the Waterfront and
      East of Eden are essential if you have not seen them. A Face in the Crowd, Viva Zapata are also must sees, I hae not seen America, America but from what I have read it is a must see. Thanks much!!

      Like

      • Judy says:

        Thanks, John – I’ve seen ‘Streetcar’ and ‘On the Waterfront’, but not ‘East of Eden’ yet though I keep meaning to do so. Also recently saw ‘Gentleman’s Agreement’ and ‘Sea of Grass’, both of which impressed me – I think ‘Sea of Grass’ is very underrated and would like to write about it some time…

        Like

  2. Denise says:

    It is a brilliant movie11
    Lee Remick is just the best actress ever alive!
    Your website is such great!!
    I am in Briatain at the moment!!
    thanks for reading this
    ly

    Like

Leave a Reply

