Milos Forman Filming “Hair”

I took this photo of Milos Forman in Central Park during the filming of HAIR. The stage production was revolutionary (I saw it on Broadway in the early 1970’s)  for its time.  Many critics narrow mindedly knocked the 1979 film as being too little, too late, but I ask, is a cry for peace and love ever too late?

10 comments on “Milos Forman Filming “Hair”

  1. I taught this film in a contemporary American literature course several times, and the students (mainly born after 1980) loved it.

    They felt it captured the idealism of a generation.

    Like

    • John Greco says:

      I am glad to hear the film is being somewhat appreciated.

      I have always believed it has been under valued. It certainly deserves more recognition than it generally receives. Thank you for your input.

      Like

  2. Brent Allard says:

    Well said! a true gesture is timeless, although it’s so easy to treat it cynically.

    Like

  3. Here’s the opening section of Hair:

    Like

  4. Sam Juliano says:

    Indeed John! The film of HAIR is a strong contender to make my own musical countdown for a bevy of reasons, not the least of which is that spirited score. I saw the revival staging of HAIR last year in Manhattan and reviewed it with much enthusiasm!

    Like

    • John Greco says:

      I remember your fantastic review Sam. I myself saw the original Broadway production back in the early 1970’s.

      Like

  5. Hello Mr Greco,
    I’m from Laisha Magazine in Israel. I’m writing an article about Hair (one of my all time favorites) and would like to learn more about the making of it, the director and actors.
    Also, is it possible to use your photo (in print, not web)?
    Thanks,
    Michal

    Like

    • John Greco says:

      Hello Michal,

      You have permission to use my photo and I hope you will be able to give me a photo credit in the magazine. If possible, I would also like to get a copy of that particular issue for my own files (I doubt it is sold in the U.S.).

      This shot, and a few others, were taken in Central Park’s Sheep Meadow during the filming in 1978. There was an advertisement in the newspaper calling for young people to come to Central Park dressed in Hippie clothing to be used as background in the film. Hundreds of folks showed up. As a photographer, it sounded like an opportunity to shoot some photos. During that afternoon I came across Mr. Foreman and his crew.

      You can e-mail me at John.twentyfourframes@gmail.com

      Regards,

      John

      Like

Leave a Reply

