Five Films for New Years Eve

THE POSEIDEN ADVENTURE (1972) The New Year’s Eve party starts off great but then you get that sinking feeling…

poseidon

                                                                                                                                                                                    THE APARTMENT (1960) Marital infidelity, a smart script by Bill Wilder and IAL Diamond with Jack Lemmon, Shirley MacLaine, Fred MacMurray, Edie Adams and Ray Walton. What else could you want for a New Years Eve fling buddy boy?

Apartment3

WHEN HARRY MET SALLY (1989)  Harry says it all here – “I love that you get cold when it’s 71 degrees out. I love that it takes you an hour and a half to order a sandwich. I love that you get a little crinkle above your nose when you’re looking at me like I’m nuts. I love that after I spend the day with you, I can still smell your perfume on my clothes. And I love that you are the last person I want to talk to before I go to sleep at night. And it’s not because I’m lonely, and it’s not because it’s New Year’s Eve. I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.”

harry-sally-topper

SUNSET BLVD (1950) – Faded film star Norma Desmond sets up a private New Year’s Eve party with kept man Joe Gillis (William Holden) in another of Billy Wilder’s cynical tales.

Blvd

RADIO DAYS (1987) Woody Allen’s nostagic look at the golden days when radio was king.   “I never forgot that New Year’s Eve when Aunt Bea awakened me to watch 1944 come in. I’ve never forgotten any of those people or any of the voices we would hear on the radio. Though the truth is, with the passing of each New Year’s Eve, those voices do seem to grow dimmer and dimmer.”

vlcsnap-2012-12-13-20h30m03s167

18 comments on “Five Films for New Years Eve

  1. ClassicBecky says:

    Great list, John! I love all of those, and was tickled to see Radio Days on the list. That is such a lovely movie. I remember that Shelley Winters got a lot of jokes made about her swimming scene, but wasn’t she wonderful in that part? That’s a gal with guts! Happy New Year, John!

    Like

    • John Greco says:

      Hey Becky! Yes, Winters was wonderful in POSEIDEN and RADIO DAYS is one of Woody’s sweetest movies. Hear is hoping you have a great year in 2014!

      Like

  2. le0pard13 says:

    Fine list, John. I’ve seen all of them, with the exception of Radio Days.

    Like

    • John Greco says:

      Thanks Michael. You need to check out RADIO DAYS when you get a chance. It you like Woody you will love this film. Happy New Years!!!

      Like

  3. Rick says:

    Fun list, John. Of your picks, my choice for tonight would bE POSEIDON because…there’s got to be a morning after. A terrific “B” film for New Year’s is REPEAT PERFORMANCE.

    Like

  4. John Greco says:

    Rick, I am not familiar with REPEAT PERFORMANCE. Will keep an eye out for it. Have a very Happy Near Year!!!

    Like

  5. Ah, “Radio Days”. A perfect selection.

    Happy New Year!

    Like

  6. Patti says:

    I haven’t watched The Poseiden Adventure in years. I remember seeing it as a kid (when it came out), and I was very affected by it. Gene Hackman’s sacrifice stuck with me for a very long time.

    Happy new year!

    Like

  7. Sam Juliano says:

    All terrific choices here John, and all films I could watch anytime, anywhere! Really inspired pick with the Woody! I’d add on THE HUDSUCKER PROXY and STRANGE DAYS.

    I wish you and Dorothy the best year ever in 2014!!!!

    Like

    • John Greco says:

      Sam, i almost include HUDSUCKER into the mix but ultimately left it out but a good choice none the less.A Happy and Healthy New Year ato you , Lucille and the kids!!!

      Like

  8. The Lady Eve says:

    Great selections, John – I’m especially partial to “The Apartment,” one of my all-time favorites. Haven’t seen “When Harry Met Sally” or “Radio Days” in ages, and this post is a great reminder that it’s time to revisit them both. I always watch “Holiday Inn” this time of year – it features two New Year’s Eves – not to mention Fred Astaire and Bing Crosby.

    Like

  9. John Greco says:

    It’s been a couple of years since I last watched HOLIDAY INN but that ‘s an excellent choice too. It’s good for almost any holiday. Like you, THE APARTMENT is one of my all-time favorites. I have been compiling, on and off, a list of my top 100 favorite films for a future post and that will definitely be on it. Here’ hoping you have a Happy New Year!!!

    Like

  10. Fabulous picks! I am very pleased that “When Harry Met Sally…” made it to the list.

    Like

  11. Judy says:

    Happy New Year, John! I’m another big fan of ‘When Harry Met Sally’, so very glad to see it on your list.

    Like

    • John Greco says:

      Happy New Year to you Judy and your family! WHEN HARRY MET SALLY is a wonderful modern romantic film and funny thanks to a good script and some fine acting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

