Ten Favorite Horror Films Plus Some

A little Halloween fun with this post. A list of my ten favorite horror films plus a dozen more. As a kid, the one film that scared the hell out of me was Robert Wise’s, The Haunting, based on Shirley Jackson’s novel, The Haunting of Hill House.  I was a young teen, home alone on a Saturday night. On TV was this ghostly classic. It wasn’t what you saw that was scary, it was what you didn’t see. The unknown and the unseen are definitely more frightening. I was never so happy to have my parents finally come home!

I always found horror films that take place in normal or everyday situations, meaning without monsters or blobs, much scarier than the ones with three headed creatures or aliens. Rosemary’s Baby takes place in New York City. A typical couple who live in an apartment building with neighbors all around. Who doesn’t have neighbors, right? We can all relate. Rosemary’s only problem is her nice friendly neighbors are devil worshippers and her loving, but hungry for success, out of work husband/actor made a hellish deal. The same with Invasion of the Body Snatchers, except we are now in small town America. Can your neighbor be a pod? Will you be next?

Well, here we go. My ten favorite horror films plus a dozen other goodies. They are in alphabetically order. Will be glad to hear what your favorites are.

BRIDE OF FRANKENSTEIN (1931) James Whale

Bride

INVASION OF THE BODY SNATCHERS (1956) Don Seigel

Invasion Of The Body Snatchers-06

KING KONG (1933)

Kingkong

PSYCHO (1960) Alfred Hitchcock

psycho-1

REPULSION (1965) Roman Polanski

repulsion4

ROSEMARY’S BABY (1968) Roman Polanski

Rosemary

THE EXORCIST (1973) William Friedkin

How_I_Made_The_Exorcist_9_a_h

THE SHINING (1980) Stanley Kubrick

the20shining20pdvd_008

THE UNINVITED (1944) Lewis Allenkkk

 

Film_677_Uninvited_original

 

One Dozen More!

Black Chrismas

Carrie (Brian DePalma)

Creature From the Black Lagoon (Jack Arnold)

Eyes Without a Face (Georges Franju)

Frankenstein (James Whale)

Halloween (John Capenter)

Island of Lost Souls (Eric C. Kenton)

Poltergeist (Tobe Hooper)

Salem’s Lot (Tobe Hooper)

The Innocents (Jack Clayton)

The Old Dark House (James Whale)

The Omen (Richard Donner)

17 comments on “Ten Favorite Horror Films Plus Some

  1. Sam Juliano says:

    Terrific list of horror favorites John! I’d certainly have the majority on my own short list as well. I am particularly enamored of INVASION OF THE BODY SNATCHERS, PSYCHO, THE SHINING, THE BRIDE OF FRANKENSTEIN, THE HAUNTING, ROSEMARY’S BABY, REPULSION, THE EXORCIST, EYES WITH A FACE, HALLOWEEN, FRANKENSTEIN and CARRIE on your list, and I’d add the likes of NOSFERATU (1922), THE MUMMY (1932), MASQUE OF THE RED DEATH, DEAD OF NIGHT, BLACK SUNDAY, I WALKED WITH A ZOMBIE, BLACK SABBATH, HOUSE ON HAUNTED HILL, THE HORROR OF DRACULA, KWAIDAN, NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD and some others.

    Have a great Halloween my friend!

    Like

  2. The Lady Eve says:

    Great list, John. Let’s see, of the 2 dozen you listed, I’d include on my own list “Rosemary’s Baby,” “The Innocents,’ “Invasion of the Body Snatchers” (original version), “The Uninvited,” and “Frankenstein.” All of them chill-inducing. I’m not a huge horror fan, but I’d also include Park Chan Wook’s “Stoker” (2013).

    Like

  3. Rick says:

    Some great choices, John. I was especially pleased to see THE OMEN, HALLOWEEN, and EYES WITHOUT A FACE on your extended list. Although THE OMEN was a popular hit at the time, I think it’s overlooked now (perhaps because of the lame sequels). But the original is quite chilling with a fine cast, with David Warner the standout for me. HALLOWEEN is brilliantly directed–any film student has to marvel at Carpenter’s use of frame space.

    Like

  4. Feeling all Hallowe’enie, I recently made up a list of 10:

    Island of Lost Souls
    Dead of Night
    The Innocents
    The Body Snatcher
    The Haunting
    The Seventh Victim
    The Mummy
    The Bride of Frankenstein
    Rosemary’s Baby
    House of Wax

    In the instance where some of these films have recently been remade, I’ll leave you to guess which version is my fave.

    Like

    • John Greco says:

      Great list! House of Wax is aFun treat. Believe it not not, I still need to see Dead of Night! Thanks for the contribution.

      Like

  5. plwinkler says:

    Dario Argento’s Suspiria is a real shocker.

    Like

  6. plwinkler says:

    Night of the Living Dead and Dawn of the Dead are both great horror films.

    Like

  7. John Greco says:

    Reblogged this on Twenty Four Frames and commented:

    With Halloween a couple of days away here is a list I did a few years back on some of my favorite horror films.

    Like

  8. You definitely have some good ones listed! My all-time favorite (because I’m a huge Ray Milland fan) is The Uninvited!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Joe Baltake says:

    John- My four favorite fright films are a bit atypical – “Seance on a Wet Afternoon,” “Cape Fear” (the original), “Night of the Hunter” (another Mitchum) and “Midnight Lace.” For fun, I’d add “Homicidal.” -J

    Liked by 1 person

    • John Greco says:

      Both Cape Fear and Night of the Hunter are nerve-racking films, and both with Mitchum causing all the stress 🙂 I have never seen Séance on a Wet Afternoon, and I have to admit, I never cared for Midnight Lace. Homicidal is a lot of fun.

      Like

Leave a Reply

