Liebster Award!

liebster-awardI am late in doing this, but I just wanted to thank Summer Reeves over at Serendipitous Anachronisms https://serendipitousanachronisms.wordpress.com/author/kitschmeonce/  for bestowing the Liebster Award on my humble little blog. I am speechless, truly without speech, but I will try to move on. Seriously, I want to thank Ms. Reeves for anointing this award. I do appreciate it. I know there are “rules” that go long with receiving the Liebster like answering a bunch of questions and paying forward by bestowing the award on 11 favorite blogs. The last part is what I feel bad about because there are blog that I left off and could have easily be added to the list.

Speaking of The Rules! Dare not to follow….

  • Answer my nominator’s 11 questions
  • Nominate 11 additional bloggers
  • Ask 11 questions to my nominees
  • Share 11 additional facts about myself

.My nominator  asked me the following 11 questions. My answers are in Italics

1- What movie have you seen more times than necessary?

The Oscar. It’s a terrible film with the worst case of overacting by Stephen Boyd and just flat out bad acting by Tony Bennett whose character was named Hymie Kelly. That in itself should be a warning. For Bennett it was his acting debut, and I believe his last. The film is unintentionally funny, filled with groans and monas. It supremely cringe worthy.

2 – What movie scared you?

The only film I can think of was not even a horror film. It was The Hunchback of Notre Dame with Charles Laughton. I was only about eight or nine years old. My parents let me stay up past my bedtime to finish watching it. Subsequently,  I had to go to bed right after the film was over. Well, I couldn’t sleep. I kept having visions of Laughton’s Hunchback climbing up the outside of my apartment building, landing on the fire escape outside my bedroom window and busting in! What he was doing in Brooklyn, I don’t know!

3 – What do you wish they would adapt or re-adapt to cinema?

Ever since I read it years ago I wanted to see a film version of The Catcher in the Rye.

4 – Are there any forthcoming films or TV shows you are excited about?

Films:

Spielberg’s Bridge of Spies

Hitchcock/Truffaut Documentary by Kent Jones

TV:

There’s a new HBO series coming in 2016, Vinyl, that is co-produced by Martin Scorsese and Mick Jagger.

5 – What are your favorite Shakespeare-ish films (Derivative work)?

Roman Polanski’s Macbeth

Akira Kurosawa’s Throne of Blood (Macbeth)

West Side Story (Romeo & Juliet)

6 – What’s your favorite movie about show business?

Sunset Blvd. with Singin’ in the Rain coming in second.

7 – What’s your favorite documentary?

Don’t Look Back, Gimme Shelter, Inside Job, Winged Migration

8 – What’s your favorite movie score?

Psycho, Jaws and The Godfather.

9 – Why did you start blogging?

I have always looked at film as an art. It’s never been a fan type thing with me. I don’t idolize. I admire certain artists for their talent, their work and their creative process. Its that way for any type of artist: filmmakers, photographers, writers etc. Since I was in my teens, more years ago than I care to admit, I have studied the art of filmmaking. Always tried to watch a movie from two perspectives; first the story and second how it was made, in other words, the choices each artist makes in creating the film.  I started this blog eight years ago this month with the idea or need to communicate, express my thoughtd as well as learn from others.

10 – What do you think is the nicest thing you’ve discovered about blogging?

“Meeting” a lot of people with the same interests as myself. The idea of connecting with people from all over the country and the world with the same deep interests in film. Folks from all over that I would have never communicated with otherwise.  As I mentioned earlier I have learned a lot from others.

11 – What are your other interests?

Photography is another passion as well as reading, writing, nature and travel. The last two tie in a lot with my photography.

In return I must ask 11 questions to my nominees.

1 – What is you favorite film genre?

2 – What is your favorite non-fiction book?

3 – What is your favorite fiction book?

4 – Your favorite femme fatale?

5 – Why do you blog?

6 – Gene Kelly or Fred Astaire and why?

7 – Who are your three favorite film comedy teams?

8 – Who are your three favorite music artists?

9 – City or Country Living and why?

10 – What is your favorite childhood movie or TV show?

11 – Charlie Chaplin or Buster Keaton and why?

My 11 nominees are…

http://le0pard13.com/

http://eves-reel-life.blogspot.com//

https://wondersinthedark.wordpress.com/

http://theschleicherspin.com/

https://movieclassics.wordpress.com/

http://criterionblues.com/

http://www.classicfilmtvcafe.com/

http://kelleepratt.com/

https://shadowsandsatin.wordpress.com/

http://www.caftanwoman.com/

http://tarahanks.com/

Finally, I am also suppose to name 11 facts about myself so here we go…

1 – I am addicted to Chocolate Chip cookies, so I avoid them as best I can. I don’t always succeed.

2 – I never had a pet until I met my wife who had four cats at the time. Now I am a cat lover.

3 – Went to the movies once with John Lennon & Yoko Ono. Okay, so maybe I didn’t exactly go to the movies with them, but I did see them one weekday afternoon in 1976 in a movie theater. We, the audience, were filing out of the Coronet theater in Manhattan after watching “The Front.” I soon realized I was standing right behind John and Yoko. We were all filing out of the theater together. Outside John & Yoko crossed the street heading to Bloomingdales. I remained outside the theater, admittedly a bit in shock, and watched them until they disappeared inside the store.

4 – My favorite book is Joseph Heller’s “Catch-22.”

5 – I am no fan of  “Gone with the Wind.”

6 – I am a Marxist and a Lennonist! (Groucho and John)

7 – Musical taste runs toward rock and roll (50’s to 80’s), but I also like the blues, folk and classical.

8 – Have been trying to figure out where my need to be creative has come from. Genetically, there is no one in my family who had any interests in the arts except for a second cousin who painted and I only met her a few times.

9 – Favorite city to visit: San Francisco

10 – Favorite states: New York, Vermont, Maine, New Mexico

11 – I have been vegetarian for more than 20 years.

Again my thanks to Summer at Serendipitous Anachronisms. Please visit he blog at the link below…

https://serendipitousanachronisms.wordpress.com/author/kitschmeonce/

8 comments on “Liebster Award!

  1. Sam Juliano says:

    Congratulations John!!! Wee-deserved and earned my friend!! I am hardly surprised! 🙂

    Like

  2. This was a very interesting post, I have seen the Oscar but I adore Tony Bennett so it’s definitely on my list. I will have to re-watch the hunchback of notre dame! Congrats, you totally deserve the award, keep up the excellent work! And stay away from the chocolate chip cookies, unless they are homemade, then go for it!
    Ciao, summer🍪🍪🍪🍪🍪

    Like

    • John Greco says:

      Summer, The Oscar is a truly bad film, but it’s one of those that you could call “bad Movies We Loves.” I will take Bennett as a singer any day than as Ana actor. As for the Chocolate Chips, I have been keeping clear of them! If my wife makes them for the upcoming holidays, I am in trouble! 🙂 Thanks again.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. le0pard13 says:

    Congrats, John! Well earned and deserved, I’d say. And thank you ever so kindly for the nomination, my friend. Much appreciated. 😀

    Like

  4. The Lady Eve says:

    A very much deserved award, John! And now I know so much more about you. Thanks for the nomination (it may take me a while…). By the way, I’m no fan of GWTW either. It’s possible that Rebecca is the only post-MGM, Selznick-produced film that I do like. And that’s due almost entirely to Hitchcock. Best to you!

    Like

  5. John Greco says:

    Thanks Eve! Your nomination is well deserved. Always enjoy your writing. Hope all is well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

