The Vermont Hills Are Alive With The Sound of Money

Von Trapp Resort_DSCN1069-1069On our recent trip to Vermont, one of the stops we made was to the Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe. Yes, it’s the same Trapp, or should I say von Trapp, family that went merrily along singing in the hills of Austria’s Alps while the Nazi’s were taking over the country. The film and the play are a simplified version of what the real family story is about. And from what I read in an interesting article, the real Maria von Trapp was not as sweet and delicate as either Mary Martin’s stage version nor Julie Andrews wholesome variety. The real Maria von Trapp was a strong tough woman.

The family, after fleeing Nazi Germany, settled in Vermont in 1942. They opened up their original home as a ski lodge, however, it burned down in 1980. Three years later, they opened up the current much larger lodge. The structure is set on more than 2,400 acres of property which includes biking and skiing trails and much more.

I am no fan of the movie. I saw it way back in the sixties when it was playing as a roadshow engagement at the Rivoli theater on Broadway with my parents. It has haunted me since. I know that  this is considered a mortal sin to some film lovers, but hey,  I am in good company. When Rex Harrison saw the musical on Broadway, he commented that “it was the first time in my life I rooted for the Nazis.” Anyway, if anyone is still reading this, we did stop at  the Lodge to look around and I thought I would share a few photos since I would think fans of the film would like to see this. Hope you enjoy.

Von Trapp Resort_DSCN1062-1062

 

Von Trapp Resort_DSCN1074-1061

As you can probably imagine, the inside is spacious and very much in the Austrian architectural  style. The next photo is inside in an area that  part of the massive lobby.

Von Trapp Resort-Lobby_DSCN1067-1067

The library

Von Trapp Resort-Library_DSCN1064-1064

The one other area we were able to explore was downstairs. Where else but a souvenir shop filled with lots of von Trapp goodies, including every book your would ever want to read about the family. Just outside the shop an actual member of the von Trapp family, I believe he was a grandchild or something like that. He was gladly signing autographed copies of any and all von Trapp books you purchased. The line was long.

Von Trapp Resort-Store_DSCN1065-1065

Once we were outside again we found an open field, part of the Lodge, with sheep roaming or to be more accurate grazing and I took these final shots.

Von Trapp Resort-Sheep-DSC1258-1250

Von Trapp Resort-Sheep-DSC1240-1259

4 comments on “The Vermont Hills Are Alive With The Sound of Money

  1. That looks like a charming vacation spot.

    I have a love-hate relationship with the show/movie. When I was a kid it overwhelmed me, and it made my sentimental Uncle Jackie cry, so I loved it. In my later years it seemed like so much piffle. Now, it depends on … I don’t know … the weather or something. Sometimes I appreciate it as a well done feature and other times I don’t want it in my house. “My Favorite Things” is my least favourite R&H song.

    Like

    • John Greco says:

      “Piffle!” I like that word and an excellent one to describe the film. Robert Wise made some excellent movies, a lot of excellent movies, but this was not one of them. And yes, the area where the lodge is located is beautiful.

      Like

  2. Sam Juliano says:

    Well John, as you very well know I am a HUGE fan of the movie and have seen it well over 20 times in theaters. We rarely disagree to this extent, but this is one instance the different is colossal. But no problem at all, and I am thrilled you got to this location -I’ve love to visit there myself at some point- and took such wonderful photos and provided this fascinating writeup!! Great to hear you and Dorothy had such a great time! 🙂

    Like

    • John Greco says:

      Sam, I thought of you when I was writing this and knew we would be on opposite sides of the fence. I just can’t warm up to this film. The true life story is really interesting but the film just turns it all into a sugar festival. I hope you get a chance to visit there. It’s a beautiful resort and the surrounding area is as well,

      Like

Leave a Reply

