1922 (2017)

NerfkusGuilt is the sort of thing that can haunt you, eat at your inner guts, and destroy your mind. It will weigh on you and everyone you come into contact with. Do something horrible, and it can kill you. Based on Stephen King’s novella, 1922 is an exploration of how guilt is unrelenting and its dread can destroy a man and his entire world.

The man in 1922 is Wilfred James (Thomas Jane), an unwavering farmer who along with his wife Arlette (Molly Parker) inherits 100 acres of farmland. With the 80 acres he already owns, Wilfred sees this as an ideal opportunity to establish a grand farm that he will someday pass on to his son, Henry (Dylan Schmid), now 14. Arlette though has other ideas. She wants out of the tough farm life. She wants to sell the land and move the family to Omaha where she can open up a dressmaking business knowing the city offers more opportunities for all of them. Wilfred refuses to part with his farming lifestyle; working the land is all he knows. Arlette begins to talk divorce, taking the boy, and going to live with her in Omaha.

MollyFacing the loss of his farm, his wife, and son, Wilfred chooses that if he has to let go of one, it will be his wife. He comes up with a plan to kill Arlette and dispose of her body. Wilfred convinces Henry, this is the only way they can keep the farm. He tells Henry killing his mother will be quick and easy. It turns out to be neither, more like harsh and messy. However, they get the job done. The murder is covered up, as is all the blood; the law and neighbors are convinced Arlette left. She packed a bag one day and was gone. In reality, she is at the bottom of an old well being eaten by rats.

1922-2017-Thomas-Jane-1024x577Wilfred becomes consumed with guilt and begins to slide deep into madness. As for Henry, he turns to a life of crime. With his girlfriend Shannon, they go off on a life crime; a Bonnie and Clyde crime spree that needless to say does not end well. However, the focus is mainly on Wilfred’s continuous descent into madness. Let me add here that if you have an aversion to rats, this film may be ill-advised to watch.

Adapted for the screen and directed by Zak Hilditch who creates a constant feeling of eerie trepidation throughout the film. Visually, the cinematography is striking and inhospitable. The stark imagery is dominant throughout.  The music score is equally sparse and dire. Hilditch’s weakness is in the script, particularly with the characters of Henry and his girlfriend, Shannon.

While there are some of the expected gross-out scenes one expects from a King movie, the film is more of a crime film and character study. Thomas Jane’s role as Wilfred is the most fleshed out character, he’s three dimensional, and the actor does some of his best work. My only complaint is that his clenched teeth speaking style made it sometimes hard to understand him.

1922 is not a typical heart thumping King thriller/horror, and this may disappoint some King fans. It’s more of a morality play that takes its time to play out. It’s the sort of film that theatergoers no longer crave; small movies that take their time to develop at a slower pace.  The few Netflix originals I have seen (Kodachrome and Our Souls at Night) seem to follow in this same pattern. Maybe these types of films that don’t make it in theaters have found a place with Netflix and other streaming services. Hopefully, they will fill this niche.

 

11 comments on “1922 (2017)

  1. Yes! I hope there is room for movie’s like this. Wonderful review John. I will watch this. The themes fascinate me. I love how you describe what guilt without redemption and resolution does to a person. All that’s left is the reckoning. And it will come.

    Liked by 1 person

    • John Greco says:

      Too many small films that take their time are today considered boring. Patients and thinking seem to be in short supply these days. Let me know what you think.

      Liked by 1 person

      • John, haven’t heard from you in a bit. I’ve had some weird instances with comments showing up in my spam folder and missing comments…none of your comments have gone spam but some may be missing…I replied to your request about the Cabaret post and didn’t hear back from you. Hope you got my reply. Anyway, always enjoy hearing from you and reading your posts.You are the reason I started my site.
        –Pam

        Liked by 1 person

      • John Greco says:

        Hi Pam,

        Sorry about not replying on the Caberet post, but I did put it on My Twenty Four Frames Facebook Page. And will probably do more. I post my own and some others bloggers post on there from time to time. Last week was a busy one. I was working on two new short stories which will be part of a new collection, plus I wrote a post for this page that will be coming out tomorrow or Thursday. I wanted to complete all that because this week, we are in Maine. Just got back from doing some photography all day.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. John Charet says:

    Great post 🙂 I always love the work of Stephen King and I love a lot of the film adaptations of his work too like The Shining, Carrie, Salem’s Lot, The Dead Zone and countless others. I do really like King’s non-horror outings like Stand By Me and The Shawshank Redemption too. Anyway, keep up the great work as always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. maddylovesherclassicfilms says:

    I’ve not seen this one yet and can’t wait to do so. I read the book a few years ago, and it really stuck in my mind. Stephen King is one of my favourite authors and I’m always eager to see good screen adaptations of his work.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. John Charet says:

    Hey John, I know you have talked about Hitchcock and De Palma in the past in a highly positive light and I am a huge fan of both of them and I wanted to tell you that this one site is talking them in a highly positive light too and I joined the conversation and it is fascinating 🙂 Here are the two links.

    This is for the Hitchcock link

    Daphne Du Maurier and Alfred Hitchcock

    And here is the De Palma link

    L13FC: Brian De Palma

    It is just a blast to talk about the films and the imagery of these two directors 🙂 Once again, keep up the great work as always 🙂

    Like

  5. Sorry John. Just wanted to make sure you were okay. I’m sure Maine is lovely this time of the year. And hopefully a lot cooler than Florida or Tennessee. Looking forward to your next short story collection and your next 24 frames post. Safe journeys.

    Like

Leave a comment